• City Commissioner Horvath honored by Florida architects

    • Share:
    June 04, 2019
    The Florida Chapter of the American Institute of Architects has awarded St. Augustine City Commissioner Roxanne Horvath with its 2019 Charles W. Clary Government Service Award.
    The award, named in honor of Charles W. Clary, FAIA, a former member of the Florida Senate, is given to an AIA Florida architect who, as an elected, appointed, or employed government official, has advanced good design and planning, and/or contributed to the dignity and value of the architectural profession. The award will be presented next month at the AIA Florida convention in Orlando.
    “It is my belief that with our experience as architects, we are well equipped for forging new roads into government leadership,’ said Horvath regarding the unique role architects have in public service. “Many of us can use our training, skills in problem solving, with creativity, to visualize and communicate solutions that will ensure livable, healthy and sustainable cities and environments for future generations.”
    As a nominee for the award, Horvath was required to submit an extensive and detailed description of her public service work which includes not only her years as a city commissioner and vice mayor, but also her service with the State Housing Initiative Partnership, the Florida Regional Council Association, the Northeast Florida Regional Planning Council, and her terms as chair of all three of the city’s most prominent boards, Historic Architectural Review Board, Planning and Zoning Board, and Code Enforcement Board.
    Horvath also headed up “Vision 2014 and Beyond,” a year-long community driven effort to position St. Augustine for the future by developing a strategic plan that is tied to a multi-year budget.  She continues to be a strong advocate of private enterprise efforts in historic preservation and supporter of the city’s cultural outreach through such organizations as the St. Augustine Sister Cities Association and archeology programs.
    AIA Florida, founded in 1912, has over 3,600 members organized into 13 regional chapters. 
    Photo attachment: Roxanne Horvath, St. Augustine City Commissioner and recipient of the 2019 Charles W. Clary Government Service Award.