• Chamber Newsroom 

    April 26, 2021

    Virtual Job Fair set for Thursday, May 20

         St. Augustine, Fla. - April 26, 2021 -  Find your next opportunity at the Virtual Job Fair May 20 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Hosted by the Career Source Northeast Florida in partnership with the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, the event will feature hundreds of job opportunities with a “virtual room” dedicated specifically to St. Johns County employers.

         Job seekers can register today for the free online event at http://bit.ly/virtualjob520. The first hour is reserved for high school seniors and everyone is welcome from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Employers from across Northeast Florida in a variety of fields with open positions at all levels of experience will be participating.

         Employers interested in participating in this free efficient recruiting event can register at:  http://bit.ly/empvirtual520. The registration site provides tips and guidance for success.

         “We are proud to partner with CareerSource Northeast Florida so that job seekers and employers can meet in a safe and effective virtual setting,” said Isabelle Renault, president, St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce. “Upon registering, job seekers will find the option of entering a St. Johns County “Room” to explore opportunities. They will also be able to access virtual booths based on the industry they want to work in.”

         To learn more about the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce or to become a member visit www.sjcchamber.com, call 904.829.5681, or connect on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sjcchamber.  


  • January 26, 2021

    Chamber’s Public Policy Committee connects members with policy-makers, guides business advocacy efforts

         (St. Augustine, Florida) ---The St. Johns County Chamber's Public Policy Committee for 2020/2021, led by Chair Beth Sweeny, Flagler College, Director of Community and Government Relations, is comprised of: Mark Nighbor, Advanced Disposal; Dirk Schroeder, Century 21; Mike Koppenhafer, Fisher Koppenhafer Architects; Mike Davis, A.D. Davis Construction; Kevin Craig, AT&T; John Dickinson, Constangy Brooks; Janette Wagner, Capital City Bank; Cary Paige, Aqua Grill; Mark Pinto, The Fiorentino Group; Carol Burns, Vista Hospitality; Victor Raymos, St. Augustine and SJC Board of Realtors; Viv Helwig, Vested Metals; Keith Johnson, Keith Johnson, CPA; Ed Dwyer, Vigeo Alliance; Michael Scine, Scine Advisors, CPA, and Isabelle Renault, St. Johns County Chamber President and Chief Executive Officer.

         The Public Policy Committee (PPC) oversees the Chamber’s business advocacy efforts at the state, county and municipal levels of government. The PPC monitors, reviews and makes recommendations to the Chamber leadership on legislative and regulatory issues that impact St. Johns County businesses.

         The PPC is comprised of senior Chamber leaders, former Chamber and EDC Chairs and representatives from various geographical, industry and professions to insure the intellectual depth of knowledge in the areas of land use, taxation, public safety, tourism and environment. The Chamber chair, along with the Chamber CEO/president, make the final appointments for the upcoming fiscal year.

         In recent years, the Chamber has taken public positions on issues as diverse as a panhandling ordinance in St. Augustine; beach replenishment from Vilano to Ponte Vedra Beach; restoration of the affordable Housing Trust Funds at the state level; and a single-use plastic bag ordinance in St. Augustine Beach. Recently, after polling the membership twice, the Chamber came out in public opposition to the proposed Florida Constitutional Amendment #2, which would raise the mandatory minimum wage to $15/hour. The Chamber will continue to canvas the Chamber members for input on significant issues.

         The Chamber solicits opinions from Chamber members on legislative issues. For example, the 2021 St. Johns County Legislative Delegation meeting was held Dec. 18 at the St. Johns County Administration Building. The state delegation heard from the Chamber of Commerce on statewide issues of concern. The Chamber’s Public Policy Committee represented the members of the Chamber at this meeting. The regular 2021 Legislative Session will convene on Tuesday, March 2, 2021.

         To find out more about the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce or to become a member visit www.sjcchamber.com, call 904.829.5681, or find them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sjcchamber

    December 4, 2020

    St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce awards Volunteer Leaders
    Recognizing Business Leaders that Make their Mark

         (St. Augustine, FL)  St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce announces that the 2020 Leadership Awards will be presented virtually. Pre-COVID-19, the Chamber held a signature event in the Fall to recognize and thank the Volunteer Leaders for their donation of time and expertise.

         The Chamber began its virtual presentation at the Dec. 4 Virtual Economic Development Breakfast. Mark Nighbor, the Chamber’s 2019-2020 Chairman of the Board, presented the Chamber Member of the Year to Northrop Grumman and First Coast Technical College for their Outstanding Collaboration and Efforts in Workforce Development. He also awarded Joy Andrews, Deputy County Administrator, St. Johns County, with the Chairman’s Award for her Outstanding Leadership and Support of St. Johns County Businesses Through COVID-19. And, Mike Koppenhafer, Chair, Executive Committee, Economic Development Council, 2019-2020, presented the Fred Schroeder Economic Development Council Member of the Year award to Firehouse Subs for Outstanding Corporate Stewardship to St. Johns County, the First Coast, and the Nation Through COVID-19.

         The other winners are: Small Business of the Year Award, St. Augustine Distillery; President’s Award: Skip Marsh, Flagler Health +;  Public Policy Member of the Year: Michael Scine, Scine CPA Advisors;  Chamber Ambassador of the Year/ Gene Morse Award, David Permenter, N2 Publishing; and Ponte Vedra Beach Division Ambassador of the Year/Grace Hayes Award: Kari Zerrahn, Anderson Agency of NE Florida. Also honored for their significant contributions: Past Chairman of the Board, Mark Nighbor and Past Chairman, executive committee, Economic Development Council, Mike Koppenhafer.

         The chairman of the board for 2020-2021, Dr. Erika Hamer, commented that the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce is poised to succeed due to the efforts of these awardees. “We have endured a challenging year,” she said. “Our members are resilient and will continue thriving due to the incredible support shown by these volunteer leaders.”